Question about variables.

General discussions related to php

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

NirelG
New php-forum User
New php-forum User

Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:22 am

Hi all,

I am quite new in php and I have a question regarding primitive variables in php.

I looked into the php documentation and found the following:

" PHP supports nine primitive types.

Four scalar types:

boolean
integer
float (floating-point number, aka double)
string

Three compound types:

array
object
callable

And finally two special types:

resource
NULL
"

my question is as follows:
Does this mean that all the variables in php are considered primitives? if so why?
I know that on most programming languages, you have both primitive variables and reference variables like, objects and arrays, yet in php it seem like even those are primitives.

Thanks in advance,
Nirel.

EDIT:
I might have not understood correctly what php primitive variables are, if I am mistaken, any help and/or explanation will be highly appreciated :)
hyper
php-forum GURU
php-forum GURU

Sat Apr 01, 2017 12:45 pm

A variable is stored somewhere in memory. When a CPU only needs to use one instruction to manipulate the variable, it is considered primitive.

As far as php is concerned, it makes very little difference as it has developed so that it does not matter.

That probably doesn't help you understand :? It really would only make a difference if you wanted to significantly increase the speed of processing when computing a very large number of numbers when using old and slow CPUs with older software with very small memories, modern computers and high level languages can deal with just about anything you'll need to do (as that is what they are designed to do).

I wouldn't get hung up on primitive variables.
NigelRen
php-forum GURU
php-forum GURU

Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:44 pm